Protecting seas in four Latin American countries

Press play to see how the marine protected areas of Chile, Colombia, Ecuador and Mexico were created over time. For more information, slide your cursor over each area.



Data sources: United Nations Statistics Division, Chile's Ministry of the Environment, Mexico's National Commission of Protected Natural Areas, National Natural Parks of Colombia and Ecuador's Ministry of the Environment and Water.